Egg rolls and more

I’ve been missing for about two weeks (well since I started the blog) because I’ve had some stuff going on.

I’ve been pretty sick lately, basically every time I eat, which is part of the reason that I have really been trying to stay on the vegan course. Two weeks ago I did my best Chinese finger cuff impression, and had an upper endoscopy and a colonoscopy. Both were an attempt to figure out what is going wrong, and the colonoscopy was also something that I had been needing (doctors orders) for the last 3 years. My dad had to have 22 inches of his colon removed 3 years ago because of some cancerous/precancerous polyps that were found. I’ve been having a lot of the same symptoms that he was having then, so I knew I had put it off long enough. Lucky everything came back normal/negative. Which is excellent news, but now leads me to:

‘What the fuck is wrong with me if I’m totally fine?’

So, now my doctor is going to have my gallbladder scanned. I’ve had ultrasounds on it in the past, but she is hoping that a scan will give more insight into if this is the issue or not.

I just want to stop feeling sick whenever I eat most anything.

So, essentially I avoided writing for a brief period of time because blogging about food when I had to got 2 and a half days without food seemed like cruel and unusual punishment.

I have also fallen off eating mostly vegan. I made gumbo (complete with chicken, andouille sausage, and shrimp. Yes, it was as amazing as it sounds. I miss living in Louisiana, so sometimes I just have to cook up a damn fine cajun dinner). I also made hamburgers then other night and they were excellent. So, I’ve not been sticking with the plan.

But. I’ve been super sick so I need to get on the ball with all of this.

Last week I made vegan egg rolls which were really good. Next time, my wife and I agreed, I’m going to add some fish sauce to the mixture, because it needed just a little more something. But other than that we enjoyed them.

They’re also weight watchers approved, which we’ve been following on our own. There’s tons of places on line where you can get all the information for free. I hate paying for things…

vegetarian-eggrolls

Vegan egg rolls

I also changed the filling a little, and added more of things we like and took out some things we don’t. I also doubled the recipe, but ended up making half as many egg rolls, because I stuffed them with more filling than was recommended. I prefer egg rolls that have a lot in them, not ones that are mostly wrapper. I love things like this, because you can really make them your own.

It’s good to be back, I’ll be posting some more stuff soon!

-Lewis

3 thoughts on “Egg rolls and more

  1. Are there any foods that don’t make you sick? I have a lot of food issues, too, so I understand. Mine tend to be more in the allergy range, but still it’s no fun to get sick from eating. I hope you and your doctors can figure it out soon!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

